Thursday, October 22, 2009

Raw Deal - Demos

"Raw Deal was formed in 1988 by Carl Porcaro, Rich McLoughlin, and Anthony Drago after their former band, Breakdown – another New York hardcore band – split through personal differences. While Breakdown continued as a band without them, Anthony Comunale – formerly of Token Entry – was recruited on vocals and Mike Sentkiewitz – formerly of Sick Of It All – on guitar to round out the Raw Deal line-up.
The band then recorded a demo cassette and set about playing at various venues in New York – most notably at CBGB's which was home to many hardcore punk acts at the time, including Agnostic Front, Warzone, Sick Of It All, Gorilla Biscuits, and Murphy's Law. They also created a second demo which remained uncirculated because, after a show at the Ritz Theatre in New York City, they were signed to the In Effect Records label – a part of Relativity Records – with a view to recording their first full-length album."

Demo (1988)

01. wall of hate
02. telltale
03. new release
04. only the strong survive
05. my reason
06. no more mr. nice guy
07. the lines are drawn


Unreleased Demo (1989)

01. fear in the streets
02. brightside
03. cheap thrills
04. backtrack
05. wall of hate
06. the lines are drawn
07. outgroup