Sunday, March 18, 2012

Cold As Life - Demos

Sorry for the delay on this one, but it had to be an epic post. 

Detroit's finest legends, a lot of wild tales have been told about this band, and in a way that some times stands more than the music itself, let's bring back the music to the spotlight on Cold As Life.

"Cold As Life was a hardcore punk band based out of Detroit, Michigan, existing from 1988 to 2001. Lyrical themes consisted of brutal depictions of the horrors of growing up and living in a city plagued with corruption, murder, drugs, depression and poverty, along with the tragedy of losing friends, family and band-mates to murder and drug abuse. Their shows were frequently violent, involving vicious fights that often included stabbings and beatings with various weapons. Stories of these shows would spread throughout the Midwest punk and hardcore communities, contributing to the band's notoriety. Cold As Life drew musical influence from such bands as Negative Approach, Sheer Terror, Discharge, 4 Skins, Cro-mags, Black Sabbath and Slayer.
In early 2007 a reunion tour was organized by former members but featured Enzo (of fellow Detroit band Dogz of War) on vocals instead of co-founder and longest standing member Jeff Gunnells."

Info on the bands demos gets a little confusing, their 1988-1993 compilation has the tracks mixed up between demos so i really don't know which is what.
I can't find a year info on the first demo posted but since it's postumos to Rawn Beauty's death, i suspect that it's the 1995 demo. If that's true then the labeled Demo 1995 must be wrong labeled since it's still sound like Rawn Beauty on vocals (and he died in 1993).
The only one that i think is correct is the 1997 Demo, since it sounds like Jeff Gunnells on vocals already.
Either way, i couldn't confirm any of this i left it as it was. If anyone can confirm any info about the posted demos or has any other missing from the post, please contact me.

Demo (?)

01. I Can't Breath
 02. Hell On It's Way
03. Cold As Life
04. Wake Up
05. Where Are We Going
06. How Much Longer
07. Detroit City
08. Boyz In Blue


 Demo 1995

01. All Alone
02. All Addicted
03. Ten Til Midnight/Terrorzone


Demo 1997

 01. Promise
 02. Ski Mask And A .45
 03. Born To Land Hard
 04. Bleeding Heart
 05. What It Was